5 Ways You Never Considered that Women are like Jesus

The following is a snapshot of some dialogue/reflections I had with God regarding my being a woman. Please note some of this may seem stereotypical and I recognize we’re all different and unique, way beyond gender.

  1. Women, the Weak Ones… I’m the weak one God..or, the “weaker vessel” so what is that of You because I know I’m made in Your Image…marykissingjesus - LizLemonSwindle
    Maybe that’s Jesus…Jesus was the weakness of God….He felt pain physically, he was hungry, tired, thirsty, broken, he couldn’t be everywhere at once-confined to a body….limited…
  2. Women, the Bleeding Ones… Hey God, I bleed. Once a month, 12 months a year, year after year. What on earth is that of You?!
    Maybe that’s Jesus too. He was born to bleed. “The Lamb slain before the foundation of the world..” (Revelation 13:8, Bible). It’s not by good thoughts or deeds that we get into heaven, but just the blood of Jesus opens the gate (see, e.g the Passover and The Last Supper).
  3. The Children came Through Our Body… There’s a family photograph where my husband is holding our smallest daughter in his arms. I carried her nine months in my womb, but because she came through my body, he can hold her. Similarly, we all can go to God, “the Father” through the body of Jesus (didn’t he say “no one comes to the father but through me” and “I am the door”?)
    Delivering the children was a painful, bloody mess…. So was the cross. When I was in labor I felt like I was going to die…. Jesus did die. Soldiers pierced his side when he was dead and blood and water came out. This is also what comes out when a child is born.
    Before Jesus went to the cross he spoke about a woman in labor:

    “…[She] has sorrow because her hour has come; but as soon as she has given birth to the child, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world. Therefore you now have sorrow; but I will see you again and your heart will rejoice, and your joy no one will take from you.” (John 16:21-22, Bible)

  4. The Children are Nourished from Our Body… I’ve been blessed to be able to nourish my children from my body. El Shaddai is a name for God which meansThe All Sufficient One,” and according to hebrew4christians.com, “Shad” means “breast” in Hebrew. Certainly when a child is hungry or distressed, there is nothing like a mother’s breast to nourish and comfort him. God often talks about food and says His Word is even like milk..

    as newborn babes, desire the pure milk of the word, that you may grow thereby, if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is gracious. (1 Peter 2:2,3, Bible)

  5. Totally Equal, but sometimes deferring or submitting…
    The common idea that men and women are equal but have different “roles” just doesn’t fit in my marriage. We bride and groom-LisaKatzare completely equal partners and work our strengths together to achieve the best for our family. Whoever is good at a task does it and we show this to our kids (there are no typical “man” or “woman” things). But sometimes there’s a difficult decision and I’m not sure what to do, so I gladly defer to whatever my husband thinks is best. I know he has our best interest at heart. Sometimes it happens the other way around. But the point is there is mutual submission and that’s OK (see e.g. Eph.5:21, 1 Pet 5:5-6).
    Jesus pleaded for another way in the garden of Gethsemane, but he deferred–even surrendered/submitted– to the Father’s will. Totally Equal to God, but he didn’t assert his way. Freedom, deliverance, and complete identification with the “children” was the result of this act.

These are all just some reflections. The important thing to note is that we are all equal for God and everyone reflects His Image -men, women and the little ones!

“There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” (Galatians 3:28)

Weird Side Note: Ever notice how men in traditional Hebrew prayer cover their heads with a shawl, and women in some cultures or religions, even to this day, have their heads covered constantly?  This reminds me of a verse for women (or anyone) with a running monologue in their minds…rabbi-jesus-300x286

The heavens declare the glory of God;
And the firmament shows His handiwork.
Day unto day utters speech,
And night unto night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech nor language
Where their voice is not heard….” (Psalm 19:1-3)

Keep your dialogue going, and don’t forget to turn your face every so often to the One Who Is Always Listening….He loves looking at you, and you may find Peace or Rest for a worried soul instantly…
*My mother once said our prayer is like God talking to Himself…

For another post on the Womb, check here on Our Freedom, or this one Pearl and Mother of Pearl.

artwork credit: painting- Liz Lemon Swindle, photo- Liz Katz

2 thoughts on “5 Ways You Never Considered that Women are like Jesus

  1. I love this Jasmine!
    Our minds work in similar, circular, open ended ways.
    Realizing the upside down kingdom that Christ ushered in, that we have to chose to walk out, has shown me the good in being the weaker vessel, the refined gold that comes from submitting. My Pastor taught that Satan did not go to Eve first because women are naturally more wicked, as the church in years past have taught, but more spiritual. Our gifting of more naturally spiritual, has to be hampered with submission, just like Christ. “least I boast” as Paul wrote.
    Cheers,
    Leah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing this Leah! Yes, aside from God, Jesus and Angels, I don’t know anyone else who had a discussion with the adversary. You?
      But I don’t think I agree with: “Our gifting of more naturally spiritual, has to be hampered with submission,” because that to me is like giving my son a red crayon but telling him he can only use it when he draws with his left hand. Or, because I gave it to him he will be blindfolded so he can’t see it. I see some punishment in the remark of your Pastor so I don’t know that I agree.
      I’ve modified this post particularly on point 5 because my main heart is to talk about submission itself amongst Equal Beings and not particularly women submit. My husband so kindly pointed out that in some marriages/unions the woman might be the tough/strong one, or also consider same-sex unions. The important thing is to note is that sometimes we must submit to one another, though we are ALL Completely Equal.
      *This discussion reminds me of my post about Children being Heaven-reminders..
      “The Truth about Children”
      https://heartinformation.wordpress.com/2013/08/30/truth-about-children-little-warriors/

      Love to you, thanks so much for sharing!

      Like

Your thoughts...

